AGW - Structural Geology

Mission, Vision, Values

Applied Geosciences is an integral part of KIT since its foundation in 1825, with the geologist Friedrich August Walchner one of its founding fathers. We are one of the oldest Universities of Technology in the world.

Our Mission

We perform innovative quality research and -teaching on deforming reservoirs, diagenesis and rock magnetics. This includes the prediction of alterations, porous and fractured rock qualities and the design digital rocks in interdisciplinary teams. We analyse processes and techno-economical utilization concepts for energy and mineral resources and identify strategic alternatives. We contribute to an efficient use of reneable energy, hydrocarbons, raw materials and subsurface storage. 

Our Vision

Our graduates shall become internationally competitive partners generating value for industry and society. We contribute to science with novel methods and international publications of fundamental and applied research. Our innovations contribute to growth of our applied partners.

Our Values

Our reserach outcome is objective and reliable. We work in a free democratic, international and open-minded environment with our academic partners, industry partners and our public project sponsors.

AGW - Strukturgeologie

Mission, Vision, Werte

Die Angewandten Geowissenschaften sind seit Gründung im Jahr 1825 integraler Bestandteil des KIT, mit dem Geologen Friedrich August Walchner als einem der Gründungsväter. Wir sind eine der ältesten Technischen Universitäten weltweit.

Unsere Mission

Wir forschen und lehren zur Deformation von Reservoiren, Diagenese und Gesteinsmagnetik. Dies beinhaltet die Alteration, poröse und gebrochene Gesteinsqualitäten und die Entwicklung digitaler Gesteine in interdisziplinären Teams. Wir analysieren Prozesse und technisch-ökonomische Nutzungskonzepte im Bereich Energie und mineralische Rohstoffe, um strategische Optionen aufzuzeigen. Mit unseren Innovationen tragen wir zu einer effizienteren Nutzung des Untergrunds für erneuerbare Energien, Kohlenwasserstoffe, Rohstoffe und Untertagespeichern bei.

Unsere Vision

Unsere Absolventen sollen sich zu international wettbewerbsfähigen Partnern entwickeln, die zur Wertschöpfung für Industrie und Gesellschaft beitragen. Unsere grundlegende und angewandte Forschung entwickelt neue Methoden und Konzepte, die in internationalen Publikationen und Innovationen münden.

Unsere Werte

Unsere Forschungsergebnisse sind objektiv und zuverlässig. Wir arbeiten in einer freiheitlich-demokratischen Gesellschaft in einem internationalen Umfeld mit unseren akademischen Partnern, Industriepartnern sowie unseren öffentlichen Projektgebern zusammen.